October 8, 2013

« All News

Mary deFlaun to Address Coal Combustion Product Remediation Meeting July 11

Mary deFlaun, Ph.D. and a principal environmental scientist for Geosyntec, is to address the Coal Combustion Product (CCP) Remediation Meeting hosted by the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) in Colorado on July 11.

Dr. deFlaun will present In Situ Biosequestration of Arsenic in Groundwater just after 2 p.m. at the Renaissance Boulder Flatiron Hotel, 500 Flatiron Blvd. in Broomfield.

This summer meeting for members of EPRI's CCP Environmental Issues Program will focus primarily on technical presentations related to groundwater remediation at CCP sites. The meeting also provides an opportunity for information exchange among participants on environmental and engineering issues associated with CCP management.

Dr. deFlaun has more than 20 years of experience bringing in situ remediation technologies addressing recalcitrant organics and metals from bench/pilot scale applications to practical field applications. She has applied technologies such as biostimulation and bioaugmentation to impacted soil and groundwater at locations throughout the eastern United States.

In recognition of her success, Dr. deFlaun has been honored by the U.S. Department of Energy for her work in the agency's Subsurface Science Program and the Natural and Accelerated Bioremediation Research Program. She also earned the Thomas Alva Edison Patent Award from the Research and Development Council of New Jersey for her work on two patents in the degradation of MTBE.

EPRI is an independent, non-profit organization that conducts research and development relating to the generation, delivery, and use of electricity for the benefit of the public. EPRI brings together its scientists and engineers as well as experts from academia and industry to help address challenges in electricity, including reliability, efficiency, health, safety, and the environment. EPRI's members represent more than 90 percent of the electricity generated and delivered in the United States, and international participation extends to 40 countries.